It’s the most wonderful time of the.. Holy crap!

It’s the most wonderful time of the.. Holy crap!

I’m running late.  Shocker!  But seriously.  I’m running late this year.  Normally, the tree would have been up & decorated the day after Thanksgiving.  The house, the day after.  My Christmas shopping?  This time last year I was completely done, and was getting a head start on this year.  Christmas cookies would have already been baked.  This year?  Pft.  I’m doing most of it all tonight and I began Christmas shopping yesterday.  Whew.  I’m two days in to my holiday & I’m already pooped.

This evening, I put the tree up.  I began stuffing Gabe’s (first real) stocking.  I’m in the process of baking Christmas cookies (it’s 9:25pm.  I’m dumb).  Thought about wrapping some gifts… ha.  That’s not gonna happen.  I still have to study, shower, & get ready for tomorrow.  I’m exhausted just thinking about it, and I haven’t done that much!  Ah, well.  ‘Tis the price I pay for my one year old.  I’m determined to make this Christmas magical if it kills me!  Last year was his first Christmas, which of course was a big deal, but this year is a whole new ball game.  He knows what’s going on and is really experiencing it for the first time.  I’m pretty stoked!

Oh, what a day it’s been.  Long day.  Passed a test… which made for a good day… just a long one.  I was talking to a good friend of mine, earlier.  She seemed to have dropped off the face of the earth for a while, so I was concerned.  Got to “talk” (text) with her today, and all is well.  Can’t go into details, but I’m proud of her.  She took something that she has worked so hard for, for so long.. and set it aside to follow God.  I know that sounds hokey, but I can’t find another way to put it, so grin & bear it.  Anyway.  She set her own dreams aside to blindly follow another path.  That’s something I could never do in a million years.  I admire her and am so proud of her strength and selflessness.  I can’t name name’s, but I ask that you pray for her in her new-found journey.

So what about you?  Have you ever been so close to your own victory or accomplishment and given it up for what could be a greater good?  I’d love to know; tell me about it.

More later.

I wish my Christmas cookies looked like this.
Leave a Reply

