Chains

Chains

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost but now am found;
Was blind, but now I see.”

What a beautiful thought.  Amazing Grace that saved a wretch like me.  I love music.  It speaks to me like nothing else can.  I have heard this song time after time, and every time, it chokes me up.  I love Chris Tomlin’s rendition.  It begins as Amazing Grace & leads to this:

“My chains are gone, I’ve been set free.
My God, my Savior, has ransomed me!
And like a flood His mercy reigns;
Unending love, AMAZING GRACE.”

The thought itself is profound, yet, the idea is so simple.  I’m afraid that we as humans complicate God’s love to the extreme when it is, in fact, the sweetest, most simple love known to man.  I think it is incredible the way God can speak to us thru music.  He uses Christian artists & the music they sing as a tool to capture our attention, if only for a moment.  I, for one, have heard songs that were never so clear until the moment I needed to hear them the most (Amazing Grace being one of many).  Think about it.  Has there ever been a moment when you’re driving along going home… to work.. school.. wherever, and THAT song came on the radio at the very time you needed to hear it most?  Whether it gave you a sense of peace, happiness, or just renewed your faith for that day, THAT was the song you needed to hear at that moment.  Wasn’t that an amazing feeling??  I like to think that is God’s way of hugging me tight; just letting me know that he is around.  I pray I never stop getting that feeling.

What about you?  Is there any song in particular that has spoken volumes for you?  Hit me up; I’d love to know.

One thought on “Chains

Leave a Reply

