Sincerely, Cupid

Sincerely, Cupid

Scan of a Valentine greeting card circa 1920.
What does a kid on a rocking horse have to do with Valentine's Day? If I took a picture of a toilet & wrote "Be My Valentine"... would that count? Image via Wikipedia

 Valentine’s Day is coming up.  I HATE Valentine’s Day.  I hate it when I’m single, & I hate it when I’m not.  It’s the one day of the year when it’s okay to buy love.  Nevermind that spouses & significant others are supposed to love each other EVERY DAY OF THE YEAR.  Let’s give it a working title and see how much crap people will buy into, so that for ONE DAY people can express their “undying love & gratitude”.

No.  We’re supposed to do attempt this every day of our lives — although, granted, we don’t always succeed.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m not boycotting Valentine’s Day, and if I were seeing anyone we’d probably go out for this “momentous” occasion.  Fighting the crowds & bs to get a drafty table at Carino’s.  I bought Gabe & my niece, Abi, a Valentine’s card.  So I’m not anti-the idea of Valentine’s Day.  It’s the pathetic display of over-done affection & propaganda that I dislike.  With that being said, though, I promise that if you & yours are going out to celebrate the holiday, I will not go to your table & make fun of you as you make goo goo eyes at the person that, just yesterday, you said you were annoyed with.  Promise.  😉

I guess my point in all that cynicism is this: What does love really mean?  To you, that is.  If you’re okay with a dozen roses from Kroger’s & a half-eaten box of chocolates, then great.  But what if you’re not?  What if love goes beyond physical intimacy for you?  What if it means friendship?  Trust?  Love that stands fire & goes beyond the outside of you & into the very core of yourself?  What if love says, “No matter what you’ve done, or where you are… I will always love you.”?  That’d be great, huh?  I’m sad to say that love like that is nearly non-existent.  But there is a glimmer, no matter how rare.

Being single, I see that love in my little one.  One day, provided I shed my pessimism, I hope to see that in my husband.  And Gabe with his (maybe) future wife.  After a bad day, the first face I want to see is my Gabe’s.  And when I stop by the day care to get him, my heart warms as I see his beaming face running towards me.  I see it in two dear friends of mine, Brittany & David.  They are young, granted.  But their love is timeless; it goes beyond desire, and plunges into a simple love.  I see it in my best friend, Catie, and the love that pours out of her eyes for her little daughter, Abi.  I can see it in my mother, who has withstood my crap for years.  She has a piece of my heart that no one else can fill.  I watched it grow for my grandparents as my Poppa’s life was fading.  Their love was legendary.

But most of all, I see it in my Maker’s love.  I see the love he has for me every time I look at Gabe.  I see the love he had for my brother after his accident on Monday; he could have died– he only has a dislocated shoulder.  I see His love in every sunrise; seeing it lets me know He’s giving me another chance at life.

Love, to me, goes beyond gigantic stuffed animals & cheesy cards.  Love isn’t about being perfect…. love is giving all you can give selflessly.  Love is accepting imperfections & looking inward to see a whole new light.  Love is simple… it’s not hard.  This year, don’t make it about bells & whistles.  Make it simple… make it last.

What’s love to you?  I wanna know.

*Edit*
Thanks for the link, Zohr. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Sincerely, Cupid

  1. Dang. I left a long comment and then it gave me an error. Hope I’m not duplicating here.

    Here’s what I think I said:

    The problem I have with this subject is that our English language is so limited that we use the word love to describe our relationships with our spouse, our lovers, our parents, our children, our friends, and tacos.

    Read this, because I cannot explain it any better:

    http://www.christinyou.net/Outlines/love.pdf

    I am lucky in that I have learned that my love for my husband is deeper than I ever gave it credit for. It’s not until you’ve walked through the fire that you learn that it can withstand it. It’s a tough walk, but you are stronger on the other side.

    I love this post. 🙂 And tacos.

    1. Thanks, ma’am. 🙂 It’s amazing how love grows, huh? I never thought I could love anyone the way I love Gabe. Oh, & I love taco’s too… although I didn’t willingly eat them until I was pregnant. Same goes for Chinese. hmph.. Go figure.

  2. Dearest Sarah,
    Believe me…true love is out there and you are on the right track with what you are looking for.
    It’s not in the big things. It’s not in the holidays. It’s just in everyday life, good and bad.
    For me, it’s the way your Uncle Todd sees the very best in me, even when I cant see it myself.
    It’s the way he reaches for my hand to hold, even after 25 years of marriage. Or the way he looks at me across a room filled with people.
    It’s the way he cares for and helps look after my mom, and the way he wept with me when my dad died.
    It’s the way he has sacrified for me and the boys. The way he has been a loving and involved dad. The way he encourages the boys to be the men he knows they can be.
    I could go on and on, but I wont bore you anymore! All I can say is that love is worth looking for, worth waiting for, worth striving everyday for.
    It’s worth it sweet Sarah, and I pray that that one day you will see it in your true love’s eyes.
    Happy Heart Day to you! I love you so!

Leave a Reply

