When I Grow Up

When I Grow Up

When I was little I had a list of things I wanted to be when I grew up.  Haven’t we all?  We all dream big when we’re little bitty.  Everything is up… there’s not much that pulls us back down to earth.  I always had my head in the clouds… sometimes I still do.  Below is a sampling of my “Jobs to Do” list… and why I later learned that most of these things weren’t practical.

  1. Job desired: Nurse.  Why this wasn’t (and isn’t) practical: I hate the sight of blood.  And I’m not big on changing diapers… so bed pans are a negative.
  2. Job desired: Firefighter.  Why this wasn’t (and isn’t) practical: I’m beyond clumsy.  Anndd… Not too big on being burned.  Or hot.
  3. Job desired: Ballerina.  Why this wasn’t (and will NEVER be) practical: …c’mon.  You know me.  I’ve got two broken left feet.
  4. Job desired: Professional figure skater.  Why this wasn’t practical… or attractive: Me in tights?  BAHAA.
  5. Job desired: Interior designer.  Why this wasn’t practical: At the time I would have had to have moved to the great state of Texas.  I hate Texas.
  6. Job desired: Journalist.  Why this wasn’t a good idea: I’m way too conservative.  In case you haven’t noticed, there aren’t many conservative journalists out there.  And the ones that are out there… well.  If they’re not crazy, they’re just not that great.

As you can see, my interests ranged.  Hopefully you can see where my five year old self began and ended.  But if you can’t, go from professional ice skater, up.  It’s amazing what we think we’d like to be when we’re barely out of diapers.  What’s even more amazing is how far we get from those dreams the older we get.  Never in my five year old life would I have ever said, “Gee.  I’d like to sit behind a desk for 8 hours a day and time.  Endlessly.”  No sirree… I’d have never said that.  In fact, I don’t like admitting to that, now.

These days my dreams are picking back up again.  So when I grow up, I want to be a good momma.  When I grow up, I want to be one of hundreds fighting childhood leukemia.  When I grow up, I want to make a difference.  When I grow up, I want to see my own little one grow up and find his way.  I want to see him live out his dreams… I want to see him with his head in the clouds, those bright eyes looking forever into his future.  When I grow up… oh, when I grow up.  I want to be the person I never thought I would be: a mom.  a friend.  a wife.  a helper.  happy.  wise.  I want to be myself.

What will you be?  Who will you be…. when you “grow up”?

Leave a Reply

