Birthdays, etc.

Birthdays, etc.

My birthday was Monday.  Whoopee.  Actually, it was a nice day and we had an even better weekend.  Last weekend some friends and I went out for my birthday a little early… this past weekend was family time.  We went to Lafayette where I had my camera fixed & whatnot.  On the way home we stopped by Prejean’s for an early birthday dinner.  Gabe, being the food connoisseur that he is, decided on the grilled cheese & french fries.  I bet you didn’t know that you must rub your grilled cheese in your hair to make it taste good.  Gabe, apparently, knew the secret and thus peeled the sandwich apart & rubbed it all in his hair.  He had Velveeta in places Velveeta should never be.  Wish I’d have thought to get a picture, but my camera was in the truck.  If you know my son, you know that his hair could easily be compared to Einstein’s ‘do.  So not only was the cheese practically glued to his head (the cheese was gooey… looked like a damn good sandwich to me — even without the hair follicles), but it was even kind of jutting out in places.  It was pretty funny, and I didn’t really mind since we were only going home anyway.  We ended Saturday on an excellent note, and fell asleep in the chair watching — you guessed it– Frasier.  Pure happiness.  🙂

Monday Gabe & I woke bright & early to take his old bed to the Salvation Army.  My boy is in his own “big boy bed”, complete with big boy sheets (sports themed, of course.  but what else for a growing quarter back??).  Before heading out, however, there was the struggle of fitting a rather large baby bed into my rather tiny Mazda 3.  She thought she had won the battle, but in the end, I won.  Guess who won’t be doing that ever again.  I think I’d have had an easier time toting it onto the city bus than cramming it into my car.  But we got it up there, and thankfully it came out much more gracefully than it went in.  Afterward, we went to Aunt Casey, Aunt Neen & Uncle Dale.  We had a nice visit, so of course it only seemed right to ruin our high spirits with a trip to Wal-Mart.  I don’t know why I do it to myself.  When we finally got home, we enjoyed a nice lunch of bar-b-que’d ribs, potato salad, and garlic bread (my favorite part).  I even made cupcakes.  Because, you know, I’m painfully thin & all.  psh.

 

Dark chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream.  OMIGOSH.  Freakin’ awesome.  Gabe even had one — sans the peanut butter icing.  His was just buttercream.  🙂  But this is how I found him:

 

Pretty sure he liked it.  He’ll be okay to have peanut butter when he’s (officially) two.  So for his birthday I’m planning on making him banana cupcakes (he loves bananas. I about have to blindfold him when walking through the produce section lest he burst into tears) with the same buttercream.  Think that’ll be pretty good.  But that’s two months away… I think I’ve got a little time to plan.

Happy Wednesday… we’re almost there!

2 thoughts on “Birthdays, etc.

Leave a Reply

