Midnight Madness

Midnight Madness

Last night was crazy.  And ok, so it wasn’t midnight.  More like 9 o’clock.  But who really needs the particulars??

Let me rewind to Monday.  That’s when the fun really began.  I started back to LSU-A for the fall.  Most of you already know that I’m taking statistics & anatomy this semester.  What you don’t know, and what I didn’t expect, is that my stat professor is quite possibly a Russian spy.  For real.  Think Natasha from Rocky & Bullwinkle.  I can’t understand a word she says.  Except for “and”.  But that’s only because she draws it out.  Example: “Yaddayaddayadda… ANNNNNNNDDDD….”  Yep.  That’s what I hear.  Like Charlie Brown teacher speak with a few “annndddds” throw in for shits & giggles.  I like her — don’t get me wrong.  She’s very warm & friendly, and, judging by her syllabus, she’s more than willing to help.  I believe that.  But I. am. terrified.  I’m really considering dropping the class before it hurts my GPA.  I don’t expect to just understand her out of the blue.. I think it would be for the best, but I’ll make that decision come Monday.

On the other hand, I think I’m really going to enjoy my A&P course.  Except for cadavers & fetal pigs.  That I don’t foresee enjoying, but it is what it is.  I really should have thought about that before I (re)declared my major.  It’s going to be interesting, & I’m excited for it.  Makes it easier to have my friend from high school, Tracy, in that class.  This certainly will not be my easiest semester, but it’s only going to get harder from here.  Guess I should brace myself for it and just go with it.

Everything about August, from Gabe staying sick to school nightmares, has been maddening.  Currently, Gabe has staph (WHOOPEE!) and before that a badass cold (WOOHOO!), so he’s been out of daycare for two weeks solid.  I can’t tell you how excited I am about that.  Work hasn’t been bad, except now my hours have been cut waaay back due to school.  Less work = crappy pay.  Financial aid FINALLY decided to pull through, but then only gave me $69 for books that ran $440.  Great.  My car shakes when I hit 55mph.  It doesn’t stop unless I hit 65mph.  Which means I’m speeding pretty much everywhere just to avoid having seizures, myself.  And to top things off, we ran through a DUI checkpoint the other night (no worries — we were okay), but irony kicked in the next morning and I received a fabulous seatbelt ticket from some cop who gave me the third degree.  About what?  Just crap in general.  We played 21 questions while he wrote out my ticket.  Why my age was relevant in the writing of a ticket is beyond me, but hey — who am I to judge?  But last night?  Last night was a kick in the pants.  It wasn’t so bad, really, but I figure I might as well bitch about it while I bitch about everything else.

Last night, our lights went out.  Not surprising as it was raining and, let’s face it, since we run off CLECO it doesn’t take a helluva lot to knock them out.  A squirrel looked at the lines once… we were out for hours (slight exaggeration).  Anyway, the lights were out.  And had been out for several hours prior to any of us coming home.  Which meant opening the fridge was out & the oven wasn’t even an option.  So we went into town for dinner.  After dinner, we ran by Lifeway to pick up bulletins for church.  My car had been running fine (minus the shaking), and I had not experienced any problems with my battery.  As we were about to leave, my car just… died.  From outta nowhere.  Just keeled over, right there in the Michael’s parking lot.  Because there were little ears in the car (mom’s, not Gabe’s), I opted not to verbally throw out a slew of expletives, but you better believe there was some serious four-letterin’ going on in my head.  Just as I was calling Casey to come save us, a lady stopped and offered to jump us off.  Thank GOD.  We finally left town at 9:30 and made it home without further interruption.

Anyhow, it’s Thursday, which means tomorrow’s Friday.  I get to see my sister tomorrow, and that makes up for a lot.  We haven’t really hung out since I’ve had Gabe & she moved to Monroe, so it’ll be a nice visit.  And if we go play pool & have a few drinks?  Well, all the more reason for her to come on down.  🙂

Leave a Reply

