A Smack-Down Christmas

A Smack-Down Christmas

Gabe & I made a few attempts at taking our Christmas pictures after Thanksgiving.  Here’s how the first one went down…:

jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle bell ro-- WHAMO!
Seriously… those have got to be the worst facial expressions either of us have ever made.  Well… maybe only recently.  Needless to say, picture taking came to an end after this.  Saturday it rained, so we went to Baton Rouge.  Got in lost in Baton Rouge.  In rainy, Baton Rouge suck-fest traffic.  FOR FOUR HOURS.  We went down with mom & dad so that dad could visit an uncle of his.  Mom & I opted to go shopping.  Attempted to, anyway.  We enjoyed ourselves, regardless… turned out to be a pretty good day.  Gabe was a rockstar (he owed me BIG from the day before), and when we finally made it to our destination, I found some super cute boots for — ready for this???– THIRTY TWO DOLLARS.  That’s right, y’all.  Thirty-two.  Not ten minutes before I found them I nearly bought some $92 dollar boots.  Those dudes were on sale, guys.  Ninety-two dollars ON SALE.  They were gorgeous.. and I really wanted them.  But my wallet clammed up & said, “Screw you, idiot!  There are cheaper boots next door!”  And, well, you just don’t argue with a clammed up wallet, right?  So next door to Charlotte Russe we went.
 
It took me five minutes to pick out the boots.  It took me twenty to get to the cashier.  And another 5 for her to figure out the computer or something.  Then she wanted to talk.  Normally I wouldn’t mind, you know?  I hate it when people are rude to cashiers.. or waiters.. or whatever.  But there were like, a million angsty, pimple-faced teenaged girls behind me who (stupidly) thought they needed the thousand pairs of thongs they were about to purchase with daddy’s credit card.. so it wasn’t exactly a primo time to pow-wow with Chatty Cathy.  I’m ashamed to say that while she was in mid-sentence I snapped up my receipt & walked away.
 
I felt like such a cow. 
 
But for crying out loud!  You’ve got the entire female LSU freshman population behind me who are still on their high from Black Friday the night before.  If you want to commit shoppers suicide, then please… go ‘head.  But I’m not game… sorry!
 
We finally made it home, where Gabe continued to be a rockstar in sleepy form.  He crashed & didn’t wake up until 7:00 the next morning.  That never happens.  I, of course, woke up at the not-so-sunny hour of 5:45, so I didn’t get to take advantage of snoozin’ it up… but I did get some quiet time to myself.  And I can I tell you?  It was uh-may-zing.  Later that day we I decided to try for more Christmas pictures.  Casey & Robby humored me & came to help out (LOVE!).  We got a few good ones, thankfully.  Not exactly what I wanted, but I’ll get what I can take with a feisty toddler.
 
rockstar!
 
 
rockstar!
3 thoughts on “A Smack-Down Christmas

Leave a Reply

