Defined.

Defined.

I’m gonna do it.  Like everyone else, I’m going to post about Chick-fil-a vs. the gay community.  Why?  Because I can.  And because ain’t it just like me to post about something controversial?

I’m not gay.  I’m about as straight as it gets, to be honest.

I have gay friends.

I love really like Chick-fil-a.  Their chicken salad sandwich?  Holy cow.

There.  That’s about the extent to which I care about the bullshit hoopla that is currently being raised over, for lack of a better term, bullshit.

In this big, wide world,  with about a million other things that actually affect my life (and everyone else’s, at that), this — in the big picture– doesn’t matter a rat’s ass.  It doesn’t.  Quit making out like it’s a big deal.  It isn’t.  And all of you just look stupid and closed-minded.  That’s right.  You heard me.  All you “open-minded” individuals?  You’re not.  Because if you were, you could simply agree to disagree, be adult about it, and have a damn chicken sandwich with the closest gay around.  But no.  You all choose to complicate things.

So the founder of a fast food chain isn’t open to homosexuality.  The man didn’t say he hates homosexuals.  He said he doesn’t support gay marriage.  Here’s a newsflash: I don’t really care for it either.  Does that mean that I hate all gay people?  Does that mean that I’m going to protest their right to marry?  Absolutely not.  Why?  Because I have bigger fish to fry.  I’ve got my own “agenda” to handle… I’ve my child’s “agenda” to handle.  But I do have my opinion.  You don’t have to like it and I don’t have to care if you like it or not.  Just like I don’t have to like your opinion.

o-pin-ion [uhpin-yuhn] noun:

  1. a belief or judgment that rests on grounds insufficient to produce complete certainty.
  2. a personal view, attitude, or appraisal.

Just as I think the gay community and its supporters railing on a fast food chain and so-called “bigots” is wrong, I believe that “anti-gay” individuals coming down on homosexuals is wrong.  These extremist points of view are absurd!  I can think of very few instances in life when extremism is the way to go.  This right here?  This ain’t one of ’em.  Homosexuals obviously don’t agree with heterosexual lifestyles.  Or not completely, anyway.  And that’s okay!  Because that’s their point of view.  And who is it hurting?  No one.  And all you people who are “tolerant” of gays?  Lemme define “tolerance” for you:

tol-er-ance [tol-er-uhns] noun:

1. a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward those whose opinions, practices, race, religion, nationality, etc., differ from one’s own; freedom from bigotry.
4. the act or capacity of enduring; endurance; My tolerance of noise is limited. 

Now allow me to define “acceptance.”

ac-cept-ance [ak-sep-tuhns] noun:

  1. the act of taking or receiving something offered.
  2. favorable reception; approval; favor.

Notice how similar all three definitions are.  Yet with context they are world’s apart different.  Context clues, guys.  Context. clues.  An opinion is just what is says in the definition.  I really don’t need to (or shouldn’t need to) go in to detail.

Tolerance.  Ah, tolerance.  I tolerate our neighbor’s incessant four-wheeler riding.  Doesn’t mean I like it.  Doesn’t mean I favor it.  It means I put up with it because it is illegal to trespass and blow up their ATV.  Tolerance.  It’s a bitch.

Acceptance.  “I accept your proposal.”  Means I want to do it.  Or I desire to work with, work towards, agree to, etc., something or other.  Acceptance.  It’s your thumbs up.

You tolerate your neighbors loud family cook-outs.  Tolerance, by social standards, is not going ape-shit over something because society (semi-rightly) deems it.

You accept a package from UPS.  Acceptance, by social standards, is… I got nothing.  You accept the fucking package because you want it.  So there.

So.  Today, when I order my grilled chicken sandwich from Chick-fil-a, I will think of all you poor bastards who are boycotting food (that’s essentially what you morons are doing) and be happy.  Because more for me.

And today, [see above], I will think of all you poor bastards who are poking fun at gays and will probably laugh because you bought a shit load of chicken sandwiches the other day and are currently out of freezer space.

C’mon guys.  There so many more issues out there of actual importance.  Boycotting?  Dumb.  I’m very pro-life (you all know — I won’t go into detail).  But I’m not going to bomb an abortion clinic.  I’m a Christian.  But I’m not going to throw verses out at you that I, myself, don’t really stick to.  We all need to realize that no one, not one of us, is perfect.  That we are flawed.  I’ll say this again because I have a point to be made:

I don’t accept gay marriage.  But I accept friends of mine who are gay.  I tolerate their lifestyle because I accept them as people.  Just like they accept me as a friend and tolerate my foot-in-mouth issue.  Or my grouchiness.  Or my goofiness.  They tolerate these things in me, and I in them, because we’ve accepted one another’s existence.  And until everyone can get that through their heads, and not everyone will, we’re going to repeat the same, age-old bullshit because human life as we know it thrives on the unknown, and fear, and drama, and…. negativity.

I adore my child.  He gets on my nerves and he’s loud and he’s obnoxious at times.  But I love him with every fiber of my self.  I, out of my own preference, would rather he be heterosexual.  That is not meant as a dig at homosexuals, nor is it points to straight people.  It’s not.  It is my opinion.  My preference.  In the event, however, that he decides otherwise — if he decides otherwise — I should think I would have a hard time not accepting my child.  I will always accept him.  I do not tolerate rudeness or bad behavior from him.  But I accept who he is now as my child..  bad days and all.  But in the event that things turn, because you never know, I will accept the fact and the person.  I will tolerate the lifestyle.

Yes, Virginia, there is a difference.  And it’s time we started thinking about what really makes it home in our hearts.  Do I care that Joe Blow here is gay?  Nah.  Do I care that Maude here is sporting purple and red?  Nah.

I care that someone walks into a theatre and commits a mass killing.

I care that there are thousands upon thousands of children who are taken from their families whether by sickness or abduction.

I care that my brother is still overseas fighting a war that seems to have no end.

I care that my child is growing up in a world where football scores and fast food fights are of greater importance than world hunger and Life.

Get with the program, y’all.  Our days are limited.  Don’t waste them on insignificance.

And for God’s sake, go have a chicken sandwich.  Damn.

Leave a Reply

