Mutual Weirdness

Mutual Weirdness

content

I’m just full of news lately, y’all.  Evan and I are GETTING MARRIED!  And I am pretty late on clue-ing you in.  He proposed on Good Friday, which he said I’m officially allowed to call “Great Friday” (har har) and very nearly sent me into a state of shock… of both the sugar and heart-attack varieties.  He came home with two Easter baskets — one for me and one for Gabe.  While Gabe was distracted with, “OMIGOSH! MOM! CHOCOLATE!”, Ev kept my attention with a few goodies of my own.  He either kind of likes me or really hates me, because in the basket was my single most favorite Easter candy ever (Robin’s Eggs) and a Storm Trooper “Easter bunny” (don’t judge).  In addition to the sugar-y goodness was a single pink egg.  He said it was a special egg and had me open it.  At first all I saw was Laffy Taffy.  And then I picked it up.. and there it was.  I was thrown for a mile, so at first it didn’t occur to me that he was proposing.  My response?  “Oh!  That’s pretty!”  God love him, he must have realized that I was confused, and so because I am a few bricks short of a house, he asked.  I accepted in truest Sarah-response, “You jerk! Of course!”  I am such an adult, I know.  But I can honestly say there’s no one else around that I’d rather fall asleep on during movies.  I’ve finally met my mutually weird counterpart, and now he’s stuck with me.

The rest of our Easter “break” was just as nice, although relatively busy and not at all break-ish.  We had our families out for lunch and enjoyed our Sunday afternoon complete with more Easter bunny festivities.  Connor is getting bigger and stronger, as is evident with his kicking, and Gabe is doing so well with his potty training.  I’m so proud of my boy!  I think we’re rounding a big corner.  I took him to Target the other night and let him pick out his own “big boys,”  and now he is even more excited to keep those undies in tip-top shape.  He’s growing up, y’all.  And as bittersweet (and long over-due) as it is, I’m ECSTATIC.  And just as soon as it’s ended, it’ll pick right back up with munchkin number two.  Sigh.  Ah, well.  It is what it is.

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned it, but in case I haven’t, we have so much going on in the next few months.  And as nerve-wracking everything is and will be, I’m excited to move on.  Gabe starts PRE-K in four months, which will be a big transition for him. Who am I kidding?  That’s a big thing for me, too.  Around that time, Connor will make his grand entrance — another huge progression for the fam.  That’s an awful lot happening already between a (newly) four-year-old pre-k’er and a newborn.  Add to that the start for finding a house to buy — not rent.  We have roughly nine months to make that magic happen.  Somewhere between, we get married.  Whew.  I’m tired just thinking about it.  But it’s beyond worth it.  Even though I know there will be some speed bumps along the way, I am confident that we’ll make it all work.  I’m also relatively confident that Evan and I will be needing a vat of Red Bull by the time this is all said and done.  And with that I say, “Bring it on!”

One thought on “Mutual Weirdness

Leave a Reply

